passions, psychobabble

Psychobabble on Waiting

For weeks, it has been windy and cool in this place of perennial summer. The weather is so out-of-place that I can only think of two other occasions when I had to wear a sweater and a pair of socks to bed: one, when I had the flu; two, during typhoon Milenyo.

“It’s so cold I have to wake up earlier than usual to heat some water for bathing,” I overheard someone say at the bank, while I waited for my number to be flashed on the digital display.

That’s us, and it’s not even 20 degrees Celsius.

“I wonder when the sun would shine? The laundry doesn’t smell clean at all.” Yet another lamented over the season.

Other times, we wish it snowed in the Philippines.

I had wanted to say, “Actually, the sun is shining as we speak. In fact, it shines as strongly as it usually does. We just can’t see it through the nimbus.” Instead, I bit my tongue. I didn’t want them to think me rude, or worse, crazy.

Fortunately, another idea barged into my head and helped me get a hold of myself: It’s funny and interesting how we never seem to think highly of the sun and its warm rays until we’re cold, and there’s smelly laundry on the clothesline. (Okay, true, it’s more HOT than warm most of the time, but it keeps us from the need to use heaters and hot/cold plumbing systems–and hair-growing treatment, eventually). We complain about it every now and then, which is probably 80% of the time we’re awake. Give us a couple of rain clouds and a cold front, and all of a sudden, we begin to miss the sun–or the lack of it, if that’s how you want to see it–and how we long for its return (although I still maintain that it has never left).

If we have to be given rain clouds to be able to appreciate sunlight, that’s just too sad. Are we born whiners? Or is it the idea of waiting that makes us so?

Teaching ESL has taught me to define things in the simplest manner. “Waiting” then, according to the Merriam-Webster’s Learner’s Dictionary, is “to stay in a place until an expected event happens, until someone arrives, until it is your turn.” Notice it doesn’t JUST say “to stay in a place.”

If I had the chance to rewrite the lines to a Bon Jovi song, I would say “Don’t give waiting a bad name.” I don’t say this to glorify myself, but I’ve learned my lessons, and I can now manage to wait with and in grace (but please, just don’t put me on hold for Technical Support, please!).

Bask in the sun. It isn’t just for drying laundry. If you haven’t been doing so, it’s not too late. While it’s cool and windy, snuggle into bed–with or without someone. Go take the shower cold. Embrace the numbing cold, knowing it won’t be like that for long. Then, when that first ray of sunlight penetrates the canopies, bounces off your window, and into your sleeping eyes, you’ll smile.

My number was called, and I’ve made my deposit, smiling that secret smile of anticipation. Fortunately, the teller misunderstood and smiled back. I said, “Thank you” and rushed out of the bank.

Excuse me now. I have to go fly a kite.

“Throw your dreams into space like a kite, and you do not know what it will bring back, a new life, a new friend, a new love, a new country.” ~ Anais Nin

Standard

One thought on “Psychobabble on Waiting

  1. Give me 100 degrees F , I’ll take it. I’ll refuse snow….No, not snow in the Philippines….that’s the reason why i love it here because of the impossibility of snow and winter. Do not even think about snow in the Phils….wahhh!
    Coz every time it’s winter in the US, even the long -time residents and people who were born in snowy areas , imagine and wish to stay in a warmer place with the sun eternally shining.

Leave a Reply

