Uncategorized

When it rains, it pours…

Raining cats and dogs by Sumaki

I’ve been teaching ESL to Koreans for quite some time now, and–what do you know–I’m the one whose drowning in idioms at the moment. Speaking of drowning, it’s been raining cats and dogs like clockwork these days, and this, together with the arrival of the BER months, is giving me an early case of the pre-Christmas blahs.  As if it weren’t enough, all three of my puppies died a month apart, despite my love and the care of two vets and our ever-dependable Yayang. So, right now, I’m listening to Kerry Muzzey’s Rainbow Bridge all over again. Separation anxiety disorder coming to life. Can it get any worse?

Apparently, it could. And it did.

I’ve been having the weirdest dreams lately. It’s the kind of stuff movies like Inception are made of, but that merits another entry. So, annyong for now.

Oh, and by the way, while I was writing this entry, I found out that the top keywords that direct readers to my blog are “heartbreak” (ouch!), “single women” (double ouch), “alpha male” (hmm…), “jock” (what the…), and–wait, it gets even better–“mashed potatoes” (huh?). So much for comfort, huh. When it rains, it pours like the Niagara (pronounced /ñag-rah/ in case you’d want to know). I told you so.

Standard

One thought on “When it rains, it pours…

  1. Looks like I spoke, er, blogged to soon. An hour after posting this entry, I had to deal with a 2-hour power outage–and it started 15 mins. before my class, thank you very much. Needless to say, I had to work at a “the coffee place” until very late at night. As my co-teacher says, “passion” and “sincerity” are the only keywords we should consider when teaching Koreans.

Leave a Reply

