passions

I’ve Always Wanted to Be a Hero

Rache2 HERO: noun
pl. he·roes

In mythology and legend, a man, often of divine ancestry, who is endowed with great courage and strength, celebrated for his bold exploits, and favored by the gods.

A person noted for feats of courage or nobility of purpose, especially one who has risked or sacrificed his or her life.

A person noted for special achievement in a particular field: the heroes of medicine.

The principal male character in a novel, poem, or dramatic presentation. Female (Heroine).

*****

When I was little, er, a child, I often daydreamed about taking a bullet for someone. On some occasions, I would alter it into running across a street to save a child from getting hit by a car and getting hit instead. Morbid, huh? I don’t know why, but at that time when all my playmates were daydreaming about becoming Barbie or starring in their own fairy tales, I was imagining myself in doing heroic, albeit seemingly foolish, acts. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not entirely selfless. Sometimes, I dream about being a mermaid, too. But later on, I watched JAWS (dum-dum, dum-dum-dum-dum) and laid my Ariel dreams to rest.

Some 20 years later, meaning now, I came to understand that being a hero doesn’t mean being extraordinary. It doesn’t necessarily mean that your life can be front-page material on the daily news. But I can be a hero (or heroine, to be feminine) by DEFYING THE ODDS.

This blog entry is my personal commitment to the call for heroes in VCF Ortigas’s series starter “Heroes.” The main points in boldface were lifted from the preachings. Defying the odds means no more living in the past. It also means challenging statistics. After all, it’s not statistics that determine our destiny. But to qualify this further, a true hero defies the odds by relying on God. It is surrender and trust that distinguish us from the rest, because, as Pastor Rey said earlier, some unbelievers can go against the odds too and still be successful in their lives. Think Tom Cruise here or David Pomeranz, both members of the Church of Scientology. (They’re both successful in the entertainment industry, and I go watch Tom’s movies and listen to David’s songs, but sadly, they give credit only to the wisdom and logic of science.)

For us, however, “faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” All of us can look, but fail to see. This is sight without vision. It is encouraging to know that we see with our “spiritual eyes” what God’s vision for us are, and know that God will make it come to pass. Hence, I commit to feel what it’s like to be inside a house even as I look only at it’s blueprint.

Faith means expecting the best! Everyday, God gives me an opportunity to stretch my faith. As Joel Osteen wrote in his book Your Best Life Now, in order to meet God halfway, we must “raise our level of expectancy.” Back in college, I remember saying “Happy are those who expect nothing for they shall not be disappointed.” Logical, but at that time, I was also cynical about a lot of things. Also, I was only counting on my personal and very human effort. No wonder I was disappointed a lot of times during that period. So in any case my college friends get to read this entry, forgive me and forget what I used to say. I was so wrong.

Faith is believing that God can bring something good out of even the worst situation. It also means believing that the impossible can be possible. I can attest to these, but then again, how much time can you spare for reading my blog?

Waiting time is never wasted time. Aha, now we’re getting somewhere pretty interesting. Being female and single, I’m often told by my friends that it’s brave of me to say that it’s okay for us to be single. . . for now. I would say that, too, 4 years ago. Don’t take the first bus that comes along, especially when it’s not going where you’re going.  It’s the waiting that makes “I do” sweeter and more meaningful. Isn’t it true that the grandest of finales is usually the one where the plot thickens until “You got me at hello” (now my Tom Cruise reference gives me away)? “Perseverance must finish its work, so that we can be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” Let’s let God build our character. Patience is a state of mind, a product of our choices. You can sit and wallow, thinking that the world owes you big time for making you wait. Or, you can build on your vital relationships first — with God, yourself, your family, and your friends — and become a better individual. Now, who won’t be attracted to THAT? Go take those piano lessons and dance classes that your parents couldn’t afford when you were a kid. Go see Batanes with your sisters or friends, without having to think about sacrificing milk money. Be grateful for the fact that right now, you are beautiful, good-hearted, and free from post-partum depression!

Don’t (as in N-E-V-E-R) take matters into your hands. God knows what’s best for us (Sorry, Ma), for he knows our heart and our future. But if we’re too persistent to get things OUR way on OUR timetable, we just might get what we wish for and end up frustrated. Or maybe, the timing wasn’t right, and we may not yet be ready for what we thought we wanted. Faith is something we will never find at Do-It-Yourself.

Don’t focus on the obstacles, focus on God. God is not just the God of What, God is also the God of How. As I always mention to my small group leader, God is the God of Big Things and God of Small Things. Our God created life; obviously, He can make you finish that thesis in flying colors. Sometimes we forget just how big our God is. Or, sometimes, we tend to associate God’s help only with life-threatening situations. And when we don’t know anyone who’s been diagnosed with cancer or dumped by her boyfriend of 15 years, God becomes so far away. Or like a character in a fictional bestseller, like Dumbledore of Harry Potter. There’s nothing too complicated or too trivial for God.

Faith should play forth in how you live your life and what you choose to do. Much of life is about making a chRache1oice, from what brand of shampoo to use to what career to get into. And right now, we are called to make a choice to be heroes for God. We don’t need to wait for our 15 minutes of fame to make a decision to be a hero. We become heroes when we fight the good fight of faith. As a last note to my blog, I did make my first step and felt like Ariel (The Little Mermaid) a couple of times. I defied my fear of the deep sea.

Standard

Leave a Reply

